

Veterinary Technician Regulated & Non-regulated Jurisdictions

Regulated Jurisdictions

Maryland (RVT)	Tennessee (LVT)
Michigan (LVT)	Texas (LVT)
Missouri (RVT)	Utah (CVT)
Mississippi (CVT)	Virginia (LVT)
Montana (LVT)	Washington (LVT)
Nebraska (LVT)	West Virginia (RVT)
Nevada (LVT)	Wisconsin (CVT)
New Mexico (RVT)	Puerto Rico* (VT)
New York (LVT)	U.S. Virgin Islands (LVT)
North Carolina (RVT)	
North Dakota (LVT)	Canadian Provinces
Ohio (RVT)	Alberta (RVT)
Oklahoma (RVT)	Manitoba (RVT)
Oregon (CVT)	New Brunswick (RVT)
Pennsylvania (CVT)	Nova Scotia (RVT)
South Carolina (LVT)	Ontario** (LVT)
South Dakota (RVT)	Saskatchewan (RVT)
	Michigan (LVT) Missouri (RVT) Mississippi (CVT) Montana (LVT) Nebraska (LVT) Nevada (LVT) New Mexico (RVT) New York (LVT) North Carolina (RVT) North Dakota (LVT) Ohio (RVT) Oklahoma (RVT) Oregon (CVT) Pennsylvania (CVT) South Carolina (LVT)

⁴¹ states; 5 provinces; 2 territories (total 48 regulated jurisdictions)

Jurisdictions with Regulation in Progress

District of Columbia – effective mid-2025	_
Minnesota – effective July 2026	

Non-regulated Jurisdictions with Voluntary Credential

(The VTNE is used as part of the voluntary credential process)

British Columbia (RVT)	New Jersey (CVT)	Vermont (CVT)
Connecticut (CVT)	Newfoundland and Labrador (EVTA) (AHT)	Wyoming (CVT)
Florida – FVTA & FVMA (CVT)	Prince Edward Island (EVTA) (AHT)	
Massachusetts (CVT)	Quebec (ATSAQ) (RVT)	
New Hampshire (CVT)	Rhode Island (CVT)	

⁸ states and 3 provinces (total 11 non-regulated jurisdictions)

THE AAVSB DOES NOT LICENSE, CERTIFY, OR REGISTER VETERINARY TECHNICIANS. Check with your jurisdiction to learn specific credentialing requirements using the Board and Agency Directory on the AAVSB website.

^{*}The VTNE is optional for licensure in Puerto Rico

^{**}Ontario requires Association membership for licensure